Category: Reviews

  • Top 100 Bookkeeping Services for Small Business (2026 Rankings)

    Top 100 Bookkeeping Services for Small Business (2026 Rankings)

    Last updated: 15 August 2026Providers reviewed: 130+Ranked: 100Pricing verified: August 2026

    Most “best bookkeeping services” lists rank five companies, three of which pay the publisher. This one ranks 100, and the ranking is built from things you can check yourself: published prices, third-party review counts, whether your data is portable if you leave, and whether the company was still trading when we looked.

    That last criterion is not academic. In the eighteen months before this update, Bench locked its customers out of their own books overnight, Botkeeper shut down after burning roughly $90 million, and ScaleFactor, KPMG Spark and Catching Clouds all disappeared or were absorbed. Choosing a bookkeeper is partly a bet on whether the company will exist next year.

    How this list is funded and who wrote it

    snyp.io is independent. We are not owned by, invested in, or paid by any provider on this page, and no company paid for placement or was told its position in advance. Where a firm is a client of another firm on this list, we say so in that firm’s entry. If that ever changes, this box changes with it.

    The short version

    • Cheapest with a real human: Fincent at $55/mo, or Complete Controller at $85/mo if you want a US-based team.
    • Best evidence behind the rating: SmartBooks (4.8/5 across 121 G2 reviews) and Collective (4.2/5 across 359 Trustpilot reviews).
    • Most transparent pricing: Fusion CPA and Maxim Liberty both publish full rate cards, which almost nobody else in this industry does.
    • Funded startup: Pilot or Zeni. Both do accrual properly; Zeni bundles banking, Pilot has the deeper bench.
    • Ecommerce: Finaloop for real-time numbers, LedgerGurus once multi-state sales tax becomes your problem.
    • Avoid until proven: Bench. The proprietary data format that stranded customers in 2024 has not changed.

    How we ranked 100 bookkeeping services

    Marketing pages are not evidence. We scored every provider on five things that can be independently verified, then ranked within tiers:

    1. Pricing transparency. Does the company publish a real number on its own site? A published rate card scored highest; “contact us for a quote” scored lowest. Roughly two-thirds of the firms we researched publish nothing.
    2. Independent review evidence. Not testimonials — verified scores on Trustpilot, G2, Capterra, Clutch or the BBB, weighted by how many reviews sit behind the number. A 5.0 from three reviewers tells you almost nothing; a 4.7 from 142 tells you a lot.
    3. Data portability. Firms working inside QuickBooks Online or Xero scored higher than firms using proprietary ledgers. If you cancel, you should keep your books. Bench’s customers learned in December 2024 what happens when you can’t.
    4. Operating stability. Years trading, ownership changes, private-equity rollups, and any interruption of service. Recent disruption cost points.
    5. Scope honesty. Whether the company actually does your bookkeeping, or sells software that expects you to bring your own accountant. Several well-funded names marketed as “AI bookkeepers” fall in the second group; we list them separately rather than ranking them.

    Every price on this page was checked against the provider’s own website in August 2026. Where we could not verify a figure at its source, we say not published rather than repeating a number from another blog. Several widely-circulated prices for these firms are two or three years stale.

    The top 25 bookkeeping services, reviewed in depth

    Each entry below lists the price we could verify on the company’s own site in August 2026, the software it works in, and the independent review evidence behind it. Where a firm has a problem worth knowing about, it is in the entry rather than buried.

    1

    Pilot

    Venture-backed startups that need investor-ready accrual books

    Price
    Essentials from $99/mo; scales with monthly expense volume. Custom tiers not published.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online + proprietary tooling
    Basis
    Both; accrual emphasis
    Headquarters
    San Francisco, CA · founded 2017
    Ratings
    G2 4.7/5 (142 reviews) — the largest verified review base in the category. Trustpilot 3.3/5 (19).

    What it does well. Deepest bench for GAAP/accrual work and investor reporting, and the only firm here with a triple-digit verified review count.

    Where it falls short. Real cost climbs fast with expense volume, and the entry price understates what a funded startup actually pays. Trustpilot reviewers cite uneven communication.

    Verdict. The default answer for a funded startup. If you have a board deck to fill, start here.

    2

    Bookkeeper360

    Growth-stage SMBs that want bookkeeping, payroll, tax and CFO from one vendor

    Price
    $399/mo (monthly plan). Tax from $1,000/yr; fractional CFO from $2,000/mo.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online and Xero
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    New York, NY · founded 2012
    Ratings
    G2 3.8/5 (5 reviews — thin). BBB A+ accredited.

    What it does well. One of very few firms that fully supports Xero as a first-class option rather than an afterthought, with a clean upgrade ladder into controller and CFO work.

    Where it falls short. Catch-up work is quoted as a separate project with a $1,000 minimum, and the review base is too small to draw conclusions from.

    Verdict. Best pick if you're on Xero and expect to need CFO help within a year.

    3

    Merritt Bookkeeping

    Owners who want one flat price and nothing else bundled in

    Price
    $250/mo flat, every client, no tiers. Catch-up at $200/mo (discounted to $100/mo).
    Software
    QuickBooks
    Basis
    Cash
    Headquarters
    San Diego, CA · founded 2013
    Ratings
    Trustpilot 3.7/5. G2 4.0/5 (2 reviews).

    What it does well. The most honest pricing page in the category: one number, no contracts, no upsell ladder, and a published satisfaction guarantee.

    Where it falls short. Bookkeeping only. No tax, no payroll, no CFO — you will need a second vendor, and it's QuickBooks-only.

    Verdict. If your books are simple and you hate sales calls, this is the shortest path to done.

    4

    Xendoo

    Small businesses wanting weekly (not monthly) bookkeeping plus bundled QBO

    Price
    From $395/mo (Essential). Growth $695/mo, Scale $995/mo. Tax prep ~$1,245/yr. Tiers have been repriced repeatedly — confirm before signing.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online (subscription bundled in)
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Fort Lauderdale, FL · founded 2016
    Ratings
    BBB A+ accredited since 2020. No verified Trustpilot presence found.

    What it does well. Acquired Botkeeper's 'Infinite' AI engine in March 2026 after Botkeeper's collapse — a genuine capability jump, and weekly cadence beats the monthly norm.

    Where it falls short. Pricing has moved several times and the public pricing page was unreachable during our August 2026 check. Independent review evidence is unusually thin for a firm this size.

    Verdict. Strong on cadence and tooling. Get the quote in writing.

    5

    Maxim Liberty

    Cost-sensitive businesses and CPA firms buying white-label capacity

    Price
    Standard $75/mo (5 hrs), Premium $150/mo (10 hrs), Enterprise $300/mo (20 hrs). $15/hr direct, $10/hr CPA wholesale. $900 refundable deposit.
    Software
    QuickBooks and Xero
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    San Juan, PR (delivery in South India) · founded 2005
    Ratings
    Clutch 5.0/5 (14 reviews). BBB A+ accredited since 2022.

    What it does well. Publishes an itemized hourly rate card — almost unheard of among offshore-delivery firms — and has a 21-year operating history with clean BBB standing.

    Where it falls short. 14 Clutch reviews is a thin evidence base against a claimed 10,000+ engagements, and its Clutch listing shows pricing that contradicts its own site ($25–49/hr vs $15/hr), suggesting stale third-party data.

    Verdict. The transparency leader on price. Verify the review base matches your risk tolerance.

    6

    Fincent

    Early-stage businesses wanting AI speed with a human actually checking the work

    Price
    Basic $55/mo (annual, cash basis, <$100K/yr expenses). Pro $189/mo. Advanced $389/mo.
    Software
    Proprietary Fincent ERP; QuickBooks integration on Pro+
    Basis
    Cash on Basic; both on Pro+
    Headquarters
    Fremont, CA · founded 2021
    Ratings
    Capterra 4.4/5 (14 reviews). Software Advice 4.4/5 (14).

    What it does well. Rare, specific disclosure of how the AI split actually works: roughly 70% of transactions auto-categorized, every entry reviewed by a named bookkeeper. Lowest real entry price with a human in the loop.

    Where it falls short. Small review sample and a young company. The Basic tier is cash-basis only, which many growing businesses outgrow within a year.

    Verdict. Best value at the bottom of the market if you want a human name on your books.

    7

    Complete Controller

    Very small businesses and CPA referrals on a tight budget

    Price
    From $85/mo — the lowest published entry price of any US onshore firm here.
    Software
    Proprietary platform with AI assist
    Basis
    Not specified
    Headquarters
    Austin, TX · founded 2007
    Ratings
    BBB A+. Yelp fragmented across listings: 3.9/5 (11), 4.1/5 (9), 5.0/5 (1).

    What it does well. Publishes a genuinely low entry price and has run for nearly two decades, with a deliberate 'your CPA's best friend' referral model.

    Where it falls short. Yelp complaints cite a three-month onboarding delay and an inexperienced assigned bookkeeper. The fragmented review footprint makes quality hard to read.

    Verdict. Cheapest onshore door in. Ask specifically who your bookkeeper will be and when they start.

    8

    SmartBooks

    SMBs wanting a full outsourced finance department, not just data entry

    Price
    Not published. A Gusto partner listing shows 'from $46/mo' — likely a narrow add-on tier, not full service.
    Software
    Not disclosed
    Basis
    Not specified
    Headquarters
    Acton, MA · founded 2010
    Ratings
    G2 4.8/5 across 121 reviews — the strongest verified rating-plus-volume combination of any independent firm in this list. BBB A+.

    What it does well. 121 reviews at 4.8/5 is real evidence, not a testimonial page. Covers bookkeeping, payroll, tax and HR under one roof.

    Where it falls short. No published pricing anywhere on its own site, so you cannot comparison-shop without a sales call.

    Verdict. The best-reviewed independent firm here. The catch is you have to call to find out what it costs.

    9

    Zeni

    Pre-revenue and early-stage venture-backed startups

    Price
    Starter from $549/mo ($494/mo billed annually).
    Software
    Proprietary AI platform; requires migration to QuickBooks Online Plus
    Basis
    Accrual
    Headquarters
    Palo Alto, CA · founded 2019
    Ratings
    G2 4.5/5 (82 reviews) — second-largest verified review base here.

    What it does well. Genuinely bundles banking, corporate cards, bookkeeping and fractional CFO hours, and states the AI+human split on its own pricing page rather than in marketing copy.

    Where it falls short. Mandatory migration to QBO Plus, and pricing above the Starter tier is inconsistent across every third-party source we checked.

    Verdict. A real contender against Pilot for seed-stage companies, with a tighter banking integration.

    10

    Finaloop

    Shopify and DTC brands that need books that keep up with daily sales

    Price
    Starter $245/mo (up to $1M annual revenue).
    Software
    Proprietary real-time platform
    Basis
    Both, switchable
    Headquarters
    Brooklyn, NY · founded 2020
    Ratings
    G2 4.7/5 (24 reviews).

    What it does well. Real-time financials rather than a monthly close is a verifiable, meaningful difference for inventory businesses — you see margin today, not on the 15th.

    Where it falls short. Ecommerce only. If you're a service business, nothing here applies to you.

    Verdict. The strongest ecommerce-native option under $250/mo.

    11

    Collective

    Solopreneurs weighing an S-Corp election

    Price
    LLC from $169/mo. S Corp from $296/mo.
    Software
    Proprietary back-office platform
    Basis
    Not specified
    Headquarters
    San Francisco, CA · founded 2018
    Ratings
    Trustpilot 4.2/5 across 359 reviews — by far the largest consumer review base in this list.

    What it does well. 359 Trustpilot reviews at 4.2/5 is the most robust consumer evidence anywhere on this page, and the S-Corp math is the whole product rather than an add-on.

    Where it falls short. Bookkeeping is welded to the tax and entity package. There's no way to buy books alone.

    Verdict. If you're a one-person business earning enough to consider an S-Corp, this is purpose-built for you.

    12

    Kruze Consulting

    Seed-to-Series B startups that need R&D credits and audit-ready books

    Price
    Not published; scales with burn rate.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online
    Basis
    Accrual / GAAP
    Headquarters
    San Francisco, CA · founded 2012
    Ratings
    Widely cited in startup finance press; no single consolidated third-party score verified.

    What it does well. Deep, specific expertise in R&D tax credits and startup audits — the team publishes substantive technical content rather than lead magnets.

    Where it falls short. No published pricing, and the model is built around funded companies. Bootstrapped businesses are not the customer.

    Verdict. A serious alternative to Pilot when tax credits and diligence-readiness matter more than price.

    13

    LedgerGurus

    Seven- and eight-figure ecommerce brands with multi-state sales tax exposure

    Price
    Not published; estimate calculator on site instead of a rate card.
    Software
    Ecommerce-platform focused (Shopify, Amazon, Walmart)
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    American Fork, UT · founded 2016
    Ratings
    No consolidated third-party score verified.

    What it does well. Multichannel sales tax nexus is the hardest problem in ecommerce accounting, and this is one of the few firms that treats it as the main event.

    Where it falls short. No published pricing, and it's a poor fit below roughly $1M in revenue.

    Verdict. Once you're selling across state lines at volume, sales tax competence beats price. This is where to look.

    14

    1-800Accountant

    First-time owners who want tax filing and bookkeeping in one low-priced bundle

    Price
    From $299/mo (Starter, billed annually), including personal and one business tax return.
    Software
    Proprietary ClientBooks
    Basis
    Not specified
    Headquarters
    New York, NY · founded 1999
    Ratings
    BBB A- accredited, but 579 complaints on file. G2 2.2/5 (9 reviews).

    What it does well. Bundles tax filing, bookkeeping and advisory at a price point competitors charge for bookkeeping alone, and has served 100,000+ businesses.

    Where it falls short. A 2.2/5 G2 score and 579 BBB complaints are the worst quality signals on this page. Reviewers repeatedly flag annual-contract lock-in.

    Verdict. The price is real and so are the complaints. Read the contract term before you pay.

    15

    Block Advisors

    Owners who want a recognizable brand and an in-person option

    Price
    Self-Service $19/mo (Wave-based). Full-Service $189/mo + $100 setup. Premium $309/mo + $100 setup.
    Software
    Wave on Self-Service; unspecified on higher tiers
    Basis
    Cash; accrual on Premium
    Headquarters
    Kansas City, MO · founded 2015 (H&R Block, 1955)
    Ratings
    No Block Advisors-specific verified score; parent H&R Block reviews are mixed.

    What it does well. The only provider here offering a genuine hybrid of virtual service and walk-in offices, backed by a 70-year-old parent company.

    Where it falls short. Bookkeeping is secondary to Block's tax business, and the $189 to $309 jump buys less than the price gap suggests.

    Verdict. Pick it for the tax integration and the physical offices, not for best-in-class bookkeeping.

    16

    Wave Advisors

    Freelancers already using Wave's free accounting software

    Price
    $149/mo USD ($199 CAD), billed annually, by transaction volume. Coaching from $229 one-time.
    Software
    Proprietary Wave platform (Pro Plan required)
    Basis
    Not specified
    Headquarters
    Toronto, Canada · founded 2009
    Ratings
    No verified third-party score found.

    What it does well. Lowest published price in this list that still includes an assigned North America–based human bookkeeper rather than pure automation.

    Where it falls short. Locked to Wave's own software. No QuickBooks or Xero path, which makes leaving painful.

    Verdict. Good value if you're already on Wave. A trap if you expect to migrate later.

    17

    QuickBooks Live (Intuit Experts Bookkeeping)

    Businesses already running QuickBooks Online that want help inside it

    Price
    Not published as a flat rate — calculated from average monthly expenses and re-evaluated every three months. Catch-up runs roughly $150 for each month you are behind.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online (native)
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Mountain View, CA · founded 2020 (Intuit, 1983)
    Ratings
    G2 4.0/5 (79 reviews). BBB A+ accredited.

    What it does well. The tightest possible integration with the software most small businesses already use, backed by a public company that is not going to disappear.

    Where it falls short. Explicitly excludes invoicing, bill pay, payroll and tax filing that competitors include, and reviewers consistently report turnover in the bookkeeper assigned to them. The service was also renamed to 'Intuit Experts Bookkeeping', which makes documentation hard to follow.

    Verdict. The safe institutional choice. You are buying stability and integration, not a relationship with one bookkeeper.

    18

    Burkland

    Series A and later startups needing fractional CFO alongside books

    Price
    Not published.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online
    Basis
    Accrual
    Headquarters
    San Francisco, CA · founded 2016
    Ratings
    No consolidated third-party score verified.

    What it does well. Strategic CFO work is the core offering rather than an upsell, with sector depth in SaaS, fintech and biotech.

    Where it falls short. No published pricing, and it's priced for funded companies. Not a bookkeeping-only vendor.

    Verdict. Choose it when you need someone in board meetings, not just closing the month.

    19

    AccountingDepartment.com

    Companies between $1M and $50M in revenue outgrowing entry-level firms

    Price
    Essential roughly $1,500–$3,500/mo. Pinnacle $8,500+/mo.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online, Sage Intacct, NetSuite, Intuit Enterprise Suite
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Chester, NJ · founded 2004
    Ratings
    No verified third-party score found.

    What it does well. The broadest ERP support here. Sage Intacct and NetSuite competence is genuinely rare among firms that market to small business.

    Where it falls short. A $1,500/mo floor rules it out for most readers of a 'best bookkeeping services' list.

    Verdict. Where you go when QuickBooks stops being enough.

    20

    Fusion CPA

    Businesses that want to see every price before talking to sales

    Price
    Foundation from $399/mo (QBO/Xero). Scaling $665/mo. Emerging Enterprises $1,365/mo. NetSuite tiers $2,500/$5,000/$10,000/mo. Personal tax from $155/mo.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    San Juan, PR (founded Atlanta, GA) · founded 2011
    Ratings
    Fragmented across Yelp (24–31 reviews), BBB and Birdeye; no single authoritative figure.

    What it does well. The most granular published pricing table we found anywhere in this research — every tier, every add-on, in public.

    Where it falls short. Review presence is scattered across small local platforms with no consolidated score to check.

    Verdict. Best-in-class pricing transparency at the mid-market end.

    21

    Belay

    Businesses that specifically want a US-based bookkeeper, not an offshore team

    Price
    Not published. Third-party estimates $34–50/hr, roughly $2,000–4,500/mo depending on scope.
    Software
    Your existing accounting software
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Atlanta, GA · founded 2010
    Ratings
    Trustpilot 4.1/5 (46 reviews). BBB A+ (not accredited).

    What it does well. All-US staffing with 15 years of history and a solid verified Trustpilot score — the clearest answer if offshore delivery is a dealbreaker.

    Where it falls short. Roughly double the cost of comparable offshore services, and bookkeeping is one of several VA specialties rather than the core business.

    Verdict. You're paying a premium for domestic staffing. Decide whether that premium buys you anything.

    22

    Acuity (Powered by Sorren)operating, merged into PE rollup

    Ecommerce, SaaS and agencies wanting software-agnostic support

    Price
    Not published; quote-based.
    Software
    Software-agnostic across cloud accounting platforms
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Atlanta, GA · founded 2004
    Ratings
    G2 4.9/5 (8 reviews — thin).

    What it does well. Genuinely software-agnostic, with 2,600+ claimed clients across unusually varied verticals including crypto and family offices.

    Where it falls short. Joined a 13-firm private-equity rollup (Sorren) in 2025, with the Sorren name appearing on tax documents from May 2026. Rollups routinely change service models.

    Verdict. Good firm, real uncertainty. Ask what changes under Sorren before committing.

    23

    Basis 365

    Companies at $1M–$20M revenue wanting fixed-price outsourced accounting

    Price
    Not published, but the firm commits to a fixed-price guarantee rather than hourly billing.
    Software
    Cloud-based; platform not named
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Irvine, CA · founded 2012
    Ratings
    Clutch 4.9/5 (17 reviews); 5.0 on willingness to refer.

    What it does well. Uniformly strong Clutch scores across quality, schedule and cost — consistency that most firms here can't show.

    Where it falls short. Fixed-price guarantee is a policy, not a published number, so you still need a quote.

    Verdict. Quietly one of the better-evidenced mid-market firms on this page.

    24

    Docyt

    Hotels, restaurants and multi-location businesses needing continuous reconciliation

    Price
    $299/mo (to 200 transactions), $499/mo (500), $799/mo (1,000), Enterprise $999/mo.
    Software
    Proprietary AI accounting automation
    Basis
    Both
    Headquarters
    Santa Clara, CA · founded 2016
    Ratings
    G2 4.9/5, Capterra 4.6/5, App Store 4.6/5 — corroborated across three independent platforms.

    What it does well. Consistent high ratings on three separate platforms, plus a purpose-built hotel product that generic firms can't match.

    Where it falls short. Markets itself as 'AI bookkeepers' but does not clearly state whether a human reviews the output — the single most important thing to confirm before buying.

    Verdict. Strong tooling for multi-location operators. Get the human-review question answered in writing.

    25

    Jitasa

    Nonprofits, foundations and associations

    Price
    Not published.
    Software
    QuickBooks Online, Sage Intacct
    Basis
    Accrual
    Headquarters
    Boise, ID · founded 2008
    Ratings
    Clutch 5.0/5 (3 reviews — thin).

    What it does well. Nonprofit accounting is a genuinely different discipline — fund accounting, grant tracking, Form 990 — and Jitasa does only that, at scale.

    Where it falls short. No published pricing and a very small verified review base.

    Verdict. If you run a nonprofit, a generalist bookkeeper will cost you more in cleanup than Jitasa costs upfront.

    Ranks 26 to 100: the full comparison table

    These are legitimate providers that did not make the top 25, usually because they publish no pricing, serve a narrow niche, or have too little independent review evidence to rank higher. Several are the best possible answer for a specific situation — a trucking company, a law firm, a UK sole trader — which is exactly why they are here.

    Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

    # Provider Best for Starting price Delivery Notes
    26 Escalon Services Startups wanting finance, HR and insurance in one back office Not published US + offshore Absorbed Early Growth; Clutch 3.0/5 (2 reviews), BBB A+ not accredited
    27 Propeller Industries Consumer brands and agencies at $5M+ Not published US Outsourced CFO-led model; bookkeeping bundled beneath it
    28 Graphite Financial Seed to Series B startups Not published US Startup-native accrual books with investor reporting
    29 Fondo YC-style startups wanting bookkeeping plus tax credits Not published US G2 4.5/5 (10 reviews)
    30 inDinero SMBs and startups wanting finance-as-a-service ~$295/mo per third party; not confirmed on site US G2 3.9/5 (32 reviews); operating since 2009
    31 Decimal Small businesses wanting bill pay and payroll bundled Core from $395/mo per third party US Acquired KPMG Spark's book in 2022; G2 2.4/5 (6 reviews) is a flag
    32 Bookkeeper.com Small businesses wanting bookkeeping plus tax $399/mo (Small Business) US Proprietary CountingWorks platform; no verified third-party rating
    33 Ignite Spot Professional services firms at $500K–$20M revenue From ~$625/mo US Revenue-based pricing; QuickBooks Pro Certified staff
    34 GrowthForce Service businesses and nonprofits Not published US Explicitly not positioned for ecommerce or retail
    35 Milestone SMBs and agencies wanting hourly transparency From $60/hr; typically $250–$1,500/mo US Employed rather than freelance bookkeepers
    36 Fully Accountable Ecommerce and agencies with high transaction volume Not published US QBO, Xero and NetSuite; strong Shopify/Amazon/Stripe integrations
    37 Paro Businesses wanting vetted freelance finance talent on demand Not published US Marketplace model; G2 3.7/5 (13 reviews)
    38 Supporting Strategies SMBs and nonprofits wanting a local relationship Not published; franchisee-set US 100+ offices; BBB has insufficient info to issue a rating
    39 Padgett Advisors Small businesses wanting bundled tax, books and payroll Not published; franchisee-set US 250–340+ locations since 1965; quality varies by office
    40 Accountingprose Scaling SaaS and startups wanting books plus HR and payroll Not published; ~1/3 the cost of in-house per site US Yelp 4.5/5 (25); one review flags $1,000/mo for ~50 transactions
    41 Reconciled Small businesses wanting flat-rate bundled service $300–$2,000/mo per third party; not confirmed on site US Bookkeeping, tax advisory, CFO and HR bundled
    42 Two Roads Small businesses and nonprofits Not published US Bookkeeping, controller and CFO tiers
    43 BooksTime Small businesses wanting a dedicated bookkeeper Not published US + offshore Long-running virtual firm
    44 Bookkeeping Express Small businesses wanting a simple flat plan From $250/mo (Essential) US Regional operation rather than national scale
    45 Analytix Accounting SMBs and accounting-firm partners Not published US + offshore Operating since 2005; private-label option for CPA firms
    46 Nimbl Small businesses wanting monthly close plus advisory Not published US Formerly Nimbl Bookkeeping
    47 Bean Ninjas Xero users and ecommerce brands Not published AU / US / UK Xero specialists since 2015
    48 Ecom CPA Ecommerce sellers needing tax plus books Not published US Ecommerce tax specialists
    49 Seller Accountant Amazon FBA sellers Not published US FBA-specific inventory and COGS work
    50 MuseMinded Amazon and Shopify sellers Not published US Ecommerce-only boutique
    51 ConnectBooks Multichannel sellers wanting real-time profit data Not published US Software-led with accounting support
    52 Uplinq Small businesses wanting AI plus an included bookkeeper Conflicting third-party figures ($129 vs $250/mo); unverified US Competitor documentation confirms a bookkeeper on every plan
    53 Found Freelancers wanting banking and books in one app Free; Plus $35/mo; Pro $80/mo US Automated categorization only — no human bookkeeper
    54 Lettuce Solopreneurs weighing S-Corp status Not published US Automated S-Corp formation plus bookkeeping
    55 Finta Early-stage startups Not published US Startup finance tooling with bookkeeping support
    56 Better Bookkeeping Small businesses wanting a boutique relationship Not published US Independent virtual firm
    57 Xen Accounting Canadian small businesses Not published Canada Cloud-native Canadian firm
    58 Enkel Canadian businesses and nonprofits From CAD $1,000/mo Canada Bookkeeping, controller and CFO tiers all published
    59 Filing Taxes Toronto and Mississauga businesses Not published Canada Vertical focus across law, restaurants, medical and nonprofits
    60 Osome UK UK small businesses From £71+VAT/mo; Grow £137; Scale £224 UK / Singapore Clear turnover-based tier guidance; no SOC 2 or ISO claim found
    61 Mazuma UK sole traders and micro businesses £38+VAT/mo (Basic) to £60+VAT/mo (Premium) UK Fully itemized pricing; Basic tier excludes phone and email support
    62 The Accountancy Partnership UK small businesses on a budget From £24.50/mo (London page) UK Trustpilot 4.8/5; one of the lowest UK entry prices
    63 Gorilla Accounting UK contractors, freelancers and landlords Not published; quote tool only UK Trustpilot 4.9/5 — highest verified UK rating found
    64 Crunch UK freelancers and contractors Software from £10+VAT/mo; Premier from £185+VAT/mo UK Own software plus accountancy service
    65 Cheap Accounting UK budget-conscious limited companies £52.50–£73.50/mo by turnover UK Fully transparent turnover-tiered pricing since 2007
    66 TaxAssist Accountants UK, Ireland, AU and CA small businesses Not published; franchisee-set UK + global 400+ practices; longest history here (1995)
    67 Pearl Accountants London small businesses Not published UK Multi-office London footprint
    68 Hnry NZ, AU and UK sole traders 1% + GST of income, capped at NZD $1,500/yr NZ / AU / UK The only percentage-of-income pricing model in this list
    69 POP Business Sydney small businesses AUD $275–$625/mo inc. GST Australia GST-inclusive published pricing
    70 QX Accounting Services CPA firms buying offshore capacity Not published; sample rates $8–30/hr India / Philippines SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, Cyber Essentials Plus
    71 Integra Global Solutions Accounting firms wanting white-label staff Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch US / India ISO 27001 certified; Clutch 5.0/5 (9 reviews)
    72 Meru Accounting Small businesses across US, UK and AU Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch India / US / AU / UK Clutch 4.5/5 (35 reviews) — largest base among India-delivery firms, but recent reviews cite missed deadlines
    73 IBN Technologies US small businesses wanting low-cost books From $10/hr per press release India Clutch 4.9/5 (11 reviews)
    74 Velan Bookkeeping Small businesses wanting a published offshore rate From $10/hr; $500–$2,500/mo full-charge India One of few offshore firms publishing a concrete hourly figure
    75 Invensis SMBs and enterprise Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch India CMMI Level 3; Clutch 4.8/5 (4 reviews); operating since 2000
    76 Cogneesol SMBs and enterprise Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch US / India Claims ISO 27001, ISO 9001, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR; only 2 Clutch reviews
    77 Outbooks UK and AU accounting practices Not published UK / India / AU / IE / MT ISO 27001:2022; six-country delivery footprint
    78 Whiz Consulting Startups through enterprise Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch India ISO 27001 certified March 2026; Clutch 5.0/5 (1 review)
    79 Bestarion US CPA firms Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch Vietnam Vietnam delivery diversifies away from the India/Philippines duopoly
    80 Initor Global UK and Irish accounting practices Not published India / UK ISO 9001, 27001, 27701; Clutch listing shows implausible rate data
    81 Doshi Outsourcing UK accountancy practices Not published; six named engagement models UK / India UK practice since 1995, offshore delivery since 1999
    82 Rayvat Accounting US and UK small businesses Not published India Operating since 2006 but zero Clutch reviews
    83 Accounts Junction SMBs across ten countries Not published India / US No founding year, certifications or ratings verifiable
    84 Aristotle Consultancy SMBs in US, Canada and UAE Not published India No third-party rating platform located
    85 Datamatics CPA US CPA firms Not published India Backed by Datamatics group (founded 1975); zero Clutch reviews
    86 TOA Global Accounting firms hiring offshore staff Not published Philippines / US 1,258+ firms served; only rating available is a Glassdoor employer score
    87 Booth & Partners Businesses building offshore finance teams Not published Philippines / Colombia Certified B Corporation; Clutch 4.8/5 (18 reviews)
    88 MicroSourcing Businesses building offshore or nearshore teams Not published Philippines / Colombia KKR-backed; general BPO rather than bookkeeping specialist
    89 Cloudstaff Businesses hiring dedicated offshore staff Not published; <$25/hr per Clutch Philippines / AU Operating since 2005; Clutch 4.7/5 (3 reviews)
    90 Staff Domain Businesses hiring offshore finance staff Not published; $500 upfront fee noted Philippines / South Africa Dual-continent delivery; founded 2018
    91 Robert Half Businesses needing contract or permanent finance staff Not published; per-engagement markup US / global Largest specialized finance staffing firm; places staff rather than outsourcing the function
    92 ATBS Owner-operator truckers Not published US Trucking-specific: per-diem, settlement and IFTA work
    93 The Fork CPAs Restaurants and hospitality Not published US Restaurant-specific COGS, tips and prime-cost reporting
    94 Level Accounting Construction and trades Not published US Job costing, WIP schedules and retainage
    95 OJO Bookkeeping Real estate and property management Not published US Trust accounting and per-property P&L
    96 Firm Balance Law firms Not published US IOLTA and trust-account compliance
    97 eAssist Dental Solutions Dental practices Not published US Dental insurance billing plus practice bookkeeping
    98 Aplos Churches and small nonprofits Software from $79/mo; bookkeeping services quoted separately US Fund accounting built for congregations
    99 Dark Horse CPAs Cannabis operators and complex tax situations Not published US IRC 280E competence — a genuine specialty
    100 Of Course Bookkeeping Course creators and digital educators Not published US Revenue recognition for cohort and subscription courses

    Bookkeeping firms that folded, sold, or changed hands

    Almost every competing list on this topic still recommends at least one company on this list as though nothing happened. Check the date on any bookkeeping ranking you read, including this one.

    • BotkeeperShut down February 2026 after 11 years and roughly $90M raised. Its 'Infinite' AI engine was acquired by Xendoo in March 2026. Any list still showing Botkeeper as active is out of date.
    • BenchCeased operations without warning on 27 December 2024, locking customers out of their data. Acquired by Employer.com on 30 December 2024; filed for bankruptcy in Canada in January 2025 with C$65.4M in liabilities. Operating again, but reviews through 2026 still cite reliability problems.
    • ScaleFactorShut down June 2020 despite raising over $100M. Forbes reporting found the automation was substantially manual behind the scenes.
    • KPMG SparkSold to Decimal in November 2022. The brand no longer exists; KPMG returned focus to core tax services.
    • Catching CloudsAcquired by Acuity in August 2021. No longer an independent ecommerce accounting brand.
    • Early GrowthMerged into Escalon Services, now marketed as 'Early Growth, an Escalon Company'.
    • The Bookkeeping Co (Australia)Closed. Its own homepage states the business is no longer operating.
    • AcuityStill operating, but merged into Sorren, a 13-firm private-equity rollup, in 2025. The Sorren name began appearing on client tax documents in May 2026.

    The lesson worth taking from all of this

    Every firm that stranded its customers had one thing in common: a proprietary ledger the customer could not export. If your bookkeeper works inside your own QuickBooks Online or Xero file, the worst case when they fail is that you hire someone else. If they work inside their own software, the worst case is that you lose your books.

    Marketed as bookkeeping services, actually software

    These products are frequently listed alongside bookkeeping firms, and several are genuinely good. But none of them will do your books. They automate categorization and reconciliation and then expect you to bring your own accountant — which is a different purchase with a different total cost.

    • DigitsSoftware only. It categorizes and reconciles, then you invite your own accountant. Essentials $65/mo, Core $100/mo, Pro $250/mo.
    • PuzzleSoftware only. Refers you to third-party partners for actual bookkeeping. Free tier; Core $30/mo; Complete $50/mo; Scale from $150/mo.
    • Bookkeep.comSoftware only. Syncs daily sales summaries into QuickBooks or Xero. Lite $19/mo to Pro $199/mo. Capterra 4.9/5 (28 reviews).
    • SynderSoftware only. Multichannel ecommerce sync into QuickBooks or Xero. Capterra 4.7/5 (256 reviews).
    • Booke AISoftware sold to accounting firms, from $129/mo per business. Not a service a small business hires directly.
    • Truewind, Basis, Numeric, Vic.ai, Trullion, Klarity, BluecopaAll B2B software sold to accounting firms or enterprise finance teams. None of them will do your books.
    • Payroll VaultPayroll and HR only. Its own services page lists no bookkeeping offering, despite frequently appearing on bookkeeping franchise lists.

    How to choose, in the order that matters

    1. Settle cash versus accrual before you shop

    If you carry inventory, bill on contracts, or expect to raise institutional money, you need accrual accounting and roughly half the providers here cannot do it properly. Sorting this first eliminates most of the list in one step.

    2. Insist on working in software you own

    QuickBooks Online or Xero, in a file registered to you. This is the single highest-value decision on this page, and it is worth paying more for. Proprietary platforms are cheaper right up until you want to leave.

    3. Price the catch-up work separately

    Catch-up is where quoted prices break down. Merritt charges $100–200/mo for historical months. Bookkeeper360 treats it as a project with a $1,000 minimum. QuickBooks Live charges roughly $150 for each month you are behind, so ten months behind is about $1,500 before ongoing service starts. Ask for the catch-up number in writing before you compare monthly rates.

    4. Read the review count, not the star rating

    A 5.0 from three reviews is noise. Of everything on this page, only four providers have both a strong score and a review base large enough to mean something: Pilot (142 on G2), SmartBooks (121 on G2), Zeni (82 on G2) and Collective (359 on Trustpilot). Treat everything else as directional.

    5. Ask who actually touches your books

    Several firms marketing “AI bookkeeping” have a human reviewing every entry. Others have no human at all. Fincent states the split plainly — about 70% auto-categorized, all of it reviewed. Docyt, which markets itself as “AI bookkeepers,” does not say. Ask, and get the answer in email.

    6. Check the contract term

    The most common complaint across every review platform we examined was not price or quality. It was annual contracts that were not obvious at signup, and the difficulty of getting out of them.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much do bookkeeping services cost in 2026?

    Verified published prices on this page run from $55/mo (Fincent, cash basis, under $100K annual expenses) to $8,500+/mo (AccountingDepartment.com’s top tier). Most small businesses land between $250 and $500 a month. Offshore providers publishing hourly rates sit at $10–15/hr; US-based staffing through a firm like Belay runs $34–50/hr. Roughly two-thirds of providers publish no price at all.

    Is offshore bookkeeping safe?

    It depends entirely on the firm, and the thing to check is certification rather than country. QX Accounting publishes SOC 2 Type II plus ISO 27001 and ISO 27701; Integra Global and Whiz Consulting hold ISO 27001. Many offshore firms claim security credentials with nothing verifiable behind them, and several have review profiles too thin to assess. Ask for the certificate, not the claim.

    What happened to Bench?

    Bench ceased operations without warning on 27 December 2024, cutting customers off from their own financial records. Employer.com acquired it three days later, on 30 December 2024, and Bench filed for bankruptcy in Canada in January 2025 with roughly C$65.4 million in liabilities. The service operates again under new ownership, but reviews through 2026 continue to report reliability and support problems, and the proprietary data format that made the shutdown so damaging has not changed.

    Do I need a bookkeeper if I already use QuickBooks?

    QuickBooks records transactions; it does not decide whether they are recorded correctly. A bookkeeper reconciles accounts against statements, catches miscoded entries, and produces financials your accountant can actually file from. If you are reconciling monthly and your balance sheet ties out, software alone may be enough. If you have never reconciled, that is precisely the work you are missing.

    What is the difference between a bookkeeper and an accountant?

    A bookkeeper records and reconciles what has already happened. An accountant interprets it, files it, and plans around it. Many firms on this page do both, but the bookkeeping tier and the tax or CFO tier are almost always priced separately — check which one your quote covers.

    Which bookkeeping service is best for a startup raising venture capital?

    Pilot, Zeni, Kruze Consulting, Graphite or Burkland. All five do accrual-basis GAAP books that survive diligence. Kruze is the strongest on R&D tax credits; Burkland is CFO-led; Zeni bundles banking and cards; Pilot has the largest team and the deepest verified review base.

    How do I switch bookkeeping providers?

    If your books live in your own QuickBooks Online or Xero file, you revoke the old firm’s access and grant it to the new one, and nothing else changes. If they live in a proprietary platform, export everything you can before you give notice — general ledger, trial balance, and all source documents. Some platforms export very little, which is the reason data portability is one of our five ranking criteria.

    Are AI bookkeeping services any good?

    The ones with a human reviewing the output are genuinely good and often cheaper than traditional firms. The ones without are categorization tools sold at bookkeeping prices. Botkeeper, the most heavily funded AI bookkeeping company, raised roughly $90 million and shut down in February 2026, which is a reasonable caution against buying on automation claims alone.

    The bottom line

    There is no single best bookkeeping service, and any list claiming otherwise is selling something. There is a best service for your accounting basis, your software, your transaction volume and your tolerance for risk — and once you have fixed those four variables, the hundred options here usually collapse to three or four.

    Get quotes from those three or four. Ask each one what catch-up costs, who specifically will do the work, and what happens to your data if you leave. The answers to those three questions will separate them faster than any ranking can.

    This page is updated as prices change and as providers enter or leave the market. Prices last verified 15 August 2026. If you find a figure that has moved, tell us and we will check it.

  • Top TV Shows to Watch on Netflix in 2025

    Top TV Shows to Watch on Netflix in 2025

    Top TV Shows to Watch on Netflix in 2025

    Netflix continues to dominate the streaming landscape with its vast library of binge-worthy series. Whether you’re into gripping dramas, laugh-out-loud comedies, or groundbreaking sci-fi, 2025 offers an impressive lineup of shows you won’t want to miss. Here are our top picks for the best TV shows to watch on Netflix this year.

    Table of Contents

    1. Stranger Things: Season 5

    The long-awaited final season of Stranger Things promises an epic conclusion to this beloved series. Expect thrilling twists, nostalgic ’80s vibes, and emotional goodbyes as the Hawkins gang faces their ultimate battle.

    • Genre: Sci-fi, Horror, Drama
    • Why Watch: Iconic characters, gripping storylines, and a pop culture phenomenon

    2. The Witcher: Season 4

    Season 4 of The Witcher introduces a new era with Liam Hemsworth stepping into the role of Geralt of Rivia. With fresh monsters, deeper lore, and familiar faces, this season aims to expand the fantasy universe fans adore.

    • Genre: Fantasy, Action
    • Why Watch: Expansive world-building, high-stakes battles, and gripping performances

    3. Bridgerton: Season 3

    Returning for another season of romance and intrigue, Bridgerton delves into the next sibling’s love story. Expect plenty of drama, lavish costumes, and swoon-worthy moments.

    • Genre: Romance, Drama
    • Why Watch: Stunning visuals, compelling characters, and Regency-era charm

    4. Squid Game: The Challenge

    This reality spin-off of the hit show Squid Game brings real contestants into the high-stakes games (minus the deadly consequences). With a massive prize on the line, it’s a thrilling mix of strategy and suspense.

    • Genre: Reality, Drama
    • Why Watch: Unique concept, competitive gameplay, and intense challenges

    5. Shadow and Bone: Season 3

    The Grishaverse continues to expand in the third season of Shadow and Bone. With darker threats and higher stakes, this series is perfect for fans of epic fantasy and intricate storytelling.

    • Genre: Fantasy, Adventure
    • Why Watch: Engaging plot, stunning visuals, and a rich fantasy world

    If you’re looking for more entertainment options, check out our post on the best coffee shops in Ashburn—perfect for a cozy binge-watching session!

    Conclusion

    Netflix in 2025 has something for everyone. From nostalgic favorites to fresh new stories, these top TV shows promise hours of entertainment. Grab your snacks, settle in, and enjoy the ride!

    For a deeper dive into other top TV recommendations, visit NYT’s guide to the best TV shows on Netflix.